Turkey is now Türkiye: What different nations have modified their title?

Say goodbye to Turkey and hiya to Türkiye.

The federal government of President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan has determined to formally change the nation’s title, dropping the long-standing anglicised model that was typically confused with the well-known Thanksgiving animal.

“The phrase Türkiye represents and expresses the tradition, civilisation, and values of the Turkish nation in the easiest way,” Erdoğan stated.

Worldwide organisations just like the United Nations, the World Commerce Group and NATO have already adopted Türkiye (roughly pronounced as “tur-key-yay”), following a proper request from the Turkish authorities.

Critics, nonetheless, say the rebrand is one other populist machine that Erdoğan is exploiting to divert consideration away from the nation’s persisting financial woes and to galvanise nationalist voters forward of subsequent yr’s essential elections.

Whatever the true causes behind the transfer, Türkiye is actually not the primary nation to alter its title.

Iran, Thailand, Sri Lanka and North Macedonia are amongst those that at one level made the change.

Watch the video above to study what different nations have modified their title.